Sweet and Tangy!

Tonight, I need quick, simple remedies to help my skin. If you are like me, you’ve spent some time indulging the last week and now your skin thanks you. By bringing all it’s friends to town. And getting a little scaly. When it gets cold, like it is now, and damp, my skin gets so dry overall. There are definitely a few products around that I’ll use to combat dryness, dullness, and aging overall but I’ve found that home remedies are just as great and won’t break the bank . You may even have them already, and you know exactly what goes into what you are putting on your face….which is the best part! My favorites are:

img_2181

sour cream – for brightening and texture improvement as well as stimulating collagen production due to the fat and lactic acids in it.

sugar – for exfoliation

lemon – for exfoliation and brightening

 

For anything I have written below, I used not just on my face but my neck and down to my breast bone. I live by the rule of 2 for these masks or scrubs – 2 tablespoons at a time.

STEP 1:

img_2130

Sugar scrub. You can use granulated sugar; I used sugar in the raw. 2 TBSP

Add a teaspoon of water at a time to the sugar until you can form a paste with your fingers. Gently scrub that paste in a circular motion all over your face, forehead, neck.

img_2173

Rinse when finished.

 

Now you can do either one of the next two items, but I would stay away from doing both on the same night to give your skin some time to rejuvenate and heal.

 

STEP 2:

Cut up a lemon. You can either juice it to get about 2 TBSP of juice and put it in a container for the frig or cut it into slices.

img_2139

Using your fingers, rub the juice or a slice (just as shown above) around your face, avoiding eyes, and careful not to flick it into your eye. If you do, your eye will tear for approximately 1-2 minutes depending on how much you put in it. Not that I know this.

Let dry for 10-15 minutes then rinse with water.

OR

STEP 2:  2 TBSP of sour cream. Put in a little airtight container or straight from the big ol’ container.

img_2172

I’m not above admitting taking another spoonful for myself 🙂

Spread evenly over face creating a thin layer you can see. Let completely dry.

Each time I did this it took about 15-17 minutes to completely dry. In the meantime I folded laundry and then read a magazine article.

Your face will start to flake – time to rinse!

 

After all of this, apply your favorite rehydrating lotion, and revel at how you just enhanced your natural beauty!!

As I write this to you, I am flexing my face back and force by moving my jaw and lips. Occasionally a piece of lemon pulp flies off my face. Whatever, it feels so effortless to do and ever so slightly sticky. I’m going to go wash my face, but you go get your home mask on quick for 10-15 minutes.

Now, your skin will begin to ACTUALLY thank you.

 

*Talk soon,

Bauble Babe

 

*This post featured:

img_2176

  • 2 TBSP granular sugar – either granulated sugar, I prefer sugar in the raw
  • 2 TBSP sour cream
  • 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice or 1 lemon, cut into slices
Leave a Reply

