Mother’s Day – Quick!

You may or may not be aware – but this weekend coming up is Mother’s Day! I have 3 mothers to prepare a gift for – and while all three genuinely do not want gifts, they still deserve something. What’s better than a homemade/handmade gift? It’s made with your effort, your time, your love, and most of all, your appreciation.

I saw this fabulous gift from one talk show host to another of different jarred items in a basket with a pretty dish or hand towel- and my lover, aka husband, said that looks like a great idea for our moms. Yes, he came up with the idea. Props to that boy.

Nothing developed until this weekend since we have been a bit busy – but these easy, easy, easy things came to mind. At first, I was going to center all the gifted items around food – spice mixes, etc. Then I thought, “How is that centered around the mom? What about something special to make the mother feel special?” I had fun with natural, homemade scrubs and facials as a kid – so I applied that here.

My ideas (after my lover’s initial idea): A hair mask. An exfoliant of some sort. A spice mix. A house scenter thingy (see Oxford English Dictionary). I researched things online – tons of resources. I made everything detailed below my own with big modifications to the original ideas. I will list supplies for you at the bottom.

First – a hair mask: moisture and breakdown of hair residue – hairspray, conditioner, shampoo.

I used 3 little mason jars – 4 ounce size.

IMG_8617

First, add  3 tablespoons of brown sugar to each one.

IMG_8622

Then, 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. And it gets real dark, like this:

IMG_8624

So luscious. Next, mix it up with a fork to really get in there.

IMG_8627

Done. Seriously. Lid it. NEXT.

Spice mix. I went with tacos – tex mex – what have you. I wanted something to add to potatoes, to add to ground beef or turkey, to mix in with sour cream, mayo and milk or a tex mexy ranchy dressing. Errrrbody love a taco.

First, 3 little mason jars again.

Add 1 tablespoon of onion powder and 1 tablespoon of garlic powder or granular garlic powder- whatever ya got. 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of chili powder on top of that. Stand back and look at your colors.

IMG_8632

That layering screams ready for eatin’.

IMG_8633

Chili powder is key for color, for flavor, and for trust. Don’t ask why, just trust me.

Next, 1 tablespoon of cumin. 1 teaspoon of paprika on top of that and about a teaspoon of cracked pepper. Now, what’s missing? Heat and salt. I stopped here because everyone has different spice levels – if it were for myself and my lover, I would add in red pepper flakes or cayenne and salt – or all three. But, since everyone has different taste buds and health issues (salt sensitive), I left it alone and will make a little directional letting them know. Finish up:

IMG_8639

Seal it. NEXT.

Hand scrub. Elbow scrub. Foot scrub. Wash me off in the shower after I shaved my legs, conditioned my hair, had a dance party scrub. Take away my rough winter skin or hydrate my sad yet happily sun drenched dry skin. Mix this one in something that measures 2 cups or more and pours or a medium sized bowl that pours….it’s easier than splitting up the ingredients like we did for the others.

1 cup of sugar. 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil. 3 tablespoons of lemon juice. Teaspoon of lemon extra for an extra zeal.

IMG_8645

Mix.

IMG_8658

Mine was pretty liquidy, so I added sugar a tablespoon at a time until it was slightly  thicker.

Like this:

IMG_8662

Now, pour into your 3 little mason jars.

IMG_8664

Oh. Oh this is decadent. The smell is fresh and spring inspired and the consistency is luxurious….shouldda made more for myself.

IMG_8684

So cute! Now, seal it up. NEXT.

Scenty things for the house in place of a candle/air freshener/plug in that I always break and spill oil on my walls or my in-laws’ bathroom walls. Oh yes. It was a magical moment.

Take 3 LARGER mason jars – pint size.

IMG_8691

Now, here I have oranges. I have oranges because I was going to make an orangey scented one. And forgot the rest of my ingredients. But, I bought limes at the grocery store, and I have peppermint extract on hand, so I made something else instead:

You need 1 lime per jar you are making. Zest the lime. Thinly slice the lime.

IMG_8694

Oh goodness…this zest…mesmerizing.

IMG_8695

Put zest and lime slices in a jar.

IMG_8699

Add 3/4 of a teaspoon of peppermint or mint extract or essential oil (if you have) to the jar. Add water to the jar, I filled mine a little less than the lid line, or with about 1 and 1/2 cups of water.

IMG_8707

Lid it. It is ready to be used with the addition of one more jar full of water. I am going to include instructions to let this bad boy simmer on the stove in a small pot as long as would like, checking every little bit to add more water if need be. They can also put it in a small crock pot (the one for dips and such) all day, again, adding water.

Now, wrap your amazing gifts however you want! I chose a wire basket from TJ Maxx (like 5 bucks) that each mom could use again. I like dual purpose, always useful gifts.

IMG_8607

Here’s a little idea of the size – I put in a few small jars and a vase so you can see it’s depth.

IMG_8614

and we bought these pretty hand towels to go inside the basket:

IMG_8710

I like it a little rustic/homey lookin’…cushion for the glass jars. I folded it in half and kind of crunched it up in there.

IMG_8716

Now you can stack your jars inside of it…

IMG_8719

Here’s what it will look like when we give the gifts away….card inside, plus little yet simple instructions for each of the gifts such as:

Hand scrub – I will melt away your dry skin

Hair mask – use me for moisture and luxury

Seasoning – use me for roasted potatoes, taco night, or in a ranch veggie dip

IMG_8726

So sweet. So heartwarming. So much love.

Supplies/Ingredients:

Mason jars for each item you are making

Basket/bag/holder to present everything

Hand Towel/Dish Towel/Large cloth napkin to decorate/cushion the jars

Lemons – Limes – Extra Virgin Olive Oil (or maybe coconut oil?)

Brown Sugar – Granulated Sugar – Lemon Extract – Peppermint Extract (or mint)

Spice List:

Onion Powder – Garlic Powder – Cumin – Chili Powder – Paprika – Pepper

Leave a Reply

